Birthday Post

I had a great birthday today.  We didn’t do anything particularly special: church in the morning, nap in the afternoon.  But it was restful and I’m going to write from 9-11 tonight so that will be nice.  I got a huge number of well wishes online.  My wife bought me A Dance with Dragons (GRRM’s latest book in the Song of Ice and Fire series).  The kids all made birthday cards for me; they were better and more sincere than anything they might have purchased at Wal-Mart.  And we made plans for dinner and a movie with friends next Friday.

All in all it was a terrific 36th b-day.

On the writing front I have completed the prologue, which I’m now calling Chapter Zero, but we’ll see if that sticks.  I’m proud of this one.  I think it has the nuts and bolts of everything I’ve been trying to convey.  Also, starting my princess off in her uncle’s castle puts her in action, rather than standing aboard a space ship waiting to arrive.  She has gone to the castle to heal her uncle, so why waste time watching her navel gaze about the healing.  Let’s see her doing it.

Obviously, I didn’t meet my July 31 deadline for the second draft of this novel, but I’ve written everyday without fail for months now and I’ve made consistent progress.  That matters more to me than finishing on any particular day.  Especially since I’m under no deadline save those I set for myself.  If I ever manage to get a contract that may change, so I might as well enjoy my current freedom.

— david j.

Leave a Reply

