C is for Consistency

I write novels.  I’ve written three of them.  Putting aside quality (man, I hope they’re good) one thing I’ve learned during the long process of piecing together an extended narrative is that consistency counts.  For this reason I write everyday.  Sometimes that means I’m pounding out 1500-2000+ words.  Other times it means I’m cutting blocks of text, stripping out dead-end plot lines, or even restructuring the entire story (really ripping its guts out).  Either way I write.

Before I put myself on so strict a regimen of daily writing, I produced several unfinished novels and a ton of short stories and novellas, but I did it all in fits and spurts that came on a whim.  There was no consistency.  Without it I felt more like the pen than the author holding it.  Now, even when I produce something horrible, I take heart in knowing I’ll be back at it tomorrow.

— david j.

5 Comments

  1. That’s awesome 🙂 I really struggle with consistency but I continue to work on it, plugging away. It’s inspiring to see people who manage to just suck it up and write everyday… I don’t think I’ll ever be one of those people, but I can keep trying LOL

    Reply

  2. Kudos to writing every day! This alone is a huge achievement, much greater than you feel it to be. Heck, two out of three writers out there cannot finish a draft because they’re not consistent—so you’ve got every reason to be proud of finishing three, no matter their perceived quality.

    Oh, nice blog btw. *heh* Found you over the #atozchallenge signup list. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I find the toughest thing is that my writing can change so much from one day to the next. One day I might be more tired than the next, or I might be feeling the pressure from a massive workload, or I might be super happy… Each mood change affects what I write. Consistency is hard!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

