D is for Determination (and Dropping Pounds)

I started dieting two weeks ago.  Let me explain by saying this is not so much a diet as a sensible approach to eating.  I know better than to eat fast food, suck down sodas every-freaking-day, and treat myself to ice cream (my delightful nemesis) whenever I feel a craving for it, which is too dang often.  Of course, knowing all this didn’t stop me from doing it for the last year and more.  And though I’ll admit I loved the meals, I hated putting on thirty pounds, outgrowing all of my jeans and dress pants, and feeling weak as sin whenever I did anything the least bit exercisy.

So, as I said, I started eating sensibly two weeks ago: one soda a week to coincide with one splurge meal a week, vegies as main courses with meat as a garnish, eating small meals every two hours (as much as possible with my schedule), and avoiding food after about 9PM (though I’m having an apple right now with plain yogurt because I’m famished after working out.

And that’s the second part of my plan: yesterday I restarted P90X after a nearly two year gap in training.  I did two rotations way back then and I was in the best shape of my life.  I want to get there again, but to do so it’s gonna take some major determination on my part.  I’m fat, weak, and lazy.  And worse, tomorrow I’m going to be so sore I won’t want to move.  But I’m going to anyway.

Wish me luck.

Oh, and my weight loss goal is 30lbs by July.  I’ve already lost 4 (though I bet it was just water weight), so I guess I’m down to 26!   Oh, brother.

 

— david j.

4 Comments

  1. You can do it, David!! The fact that you put your goals on your blog is great because now your blog buddies are going to hold you accountable, LoL. Good for you and keep it up!

    Nice to meet you and happy A to Z!!

    Reply

  2. Good luck. I lost about 24 pounds last year, but it took a lot of work. Now that I’m expecting again I’ve been giving in to every craving. I know I’m going to regret it, and P90X is on my list for after the baby comes. Exercisy is now my word of the day 🙂

    Reply

  3. I need to stop by here more often to get encouragement. My husband and I are going through this now. I have about 30 lbs. left to go, he has a whole lot more. Good luck to all of us!

    Nice to meet you and hope you’re enjoying the Challenge!

    KarenG
    A to Z Challenge Host

    Reply

  4. Do it! Do it! You are doing great already!
    I’m struggling to lose my last 10lbs after having twins … Almost there.
    Stopping by from A to Z challenge #970
    Leigh @oneandoneequalstwinfun.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

