P is for Pounding the Keys

Aside from some small dalliances (and one not-so-small nanowrimo novel last year) I’ve been working on my current WIP for about 2 years.  I’m now on my third draft, and making constant if slow progress towards completion.  This is the largest book, both in concept and scope, I’ve ever written.  It has two very different viewpoint characters and a plethora (thank you El Guapo) of side characters I’m trying to juggle onto an empire-spanning stage.

Obviously, I’ve talked about this book with family and friends.  A few have even read early drafts, because I enlisted some as alpha readers.  Lately, I’ve been getting that question.  You know the one.

“So, when is that book of yours gonna be done?”

Le sigh…

I can only say, “When it’s done.”  I got nothing else.

Here’s the thing, people.  I get to write 1 to 2 hours a day and then ONLY because I choose to get up at 4AM and write until 6AM.  At six I must get a shower, because my five-year-old is up by 6:30AM and I can’t risk slowing down his mom’s morning routine, making him late for school.  After that I’m racing to arrive at work by 7:30AM.  If the writing session goes badly, and believe me they often do, I have no option to extend.  I have to suck it up and wait till tomorrow.

All I can do is keep pounding the keys.  It’s a slow process, but it’s all I’ve got.  Either I get it done or I quit, and I don’t plan on quitting.

— david j.

One Comment

  1. I don’t know how one could think straight at 4:00 a.m.1 It’s tough to make progress on novels when you’re working full time and have a family. Keep plugging away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

