Success!

First, real success.  I’ve lost eight pounds since starting my new diet/exercise regimen.  I can feel the differences too.  I’m back in pants I haven’t worn for a year or more and I can hold a handstand for longer than 2.5 seconds.  I know that last one sounds weird, but I’ve always been able to do a handstand since I was maybe 10’ish.  It’s only been in the last few years I lost my sense of balance (i.e. got too fat) to maintain one for more than a handful of seconds.  Perhaps soon I’ll be able to stand longer than my son, Alex, who is level 7 in gymnastics.

As for my novel Scion I’m feeling less successful in that realm.  Rewrites have been atrocious.  I know something’s broken about this book, but I’m having a hard time pinpointing it.  Some days I worry that I just don’t have what it takes to be a novelist.  Of course I know everyone goes through that, even the greats.  But I’m hella frustrated right now.  All I can do is keep moving forward, checking all the gears and springs.  Either it will come out working in the next month or I’m going to leave this one behind to write one of the six other novels I have on my plate.

— david j.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

