Z is for…

Xylophone.

What?

I told you I can’t spell for siht!

In other news I’m still making progress on Scion, though I just couldn’t get up early this morning to work on it.  Our youngest (he’s five) has decided he can’t sleep through the night for some reason.  He keeps waking us up at 2AM or 3AM.  Even if I’m up for only a few minutes I find it hard to jump out of bed at 4.  Silly me.

Also, as part of my lifetime (from about 3 weeks ago on!) focus on fitness, I have joined my local Crossfit gym here in Hephzibah, GA.  I attended my first workout tonight, which consisted of a 400 meter run and  back squats.  The real Crossfitters did 7 rounds of this glorious insanity, doing 15 reps on each set of squats.  I did just three, and let me tell you, it was tough.  Granted, I’m not in the type of shape I should be, but had I come in the fittest I’ve ever been I don’t think I would have made it through 7 rounds.  We started with the run, and I actually passed some people, but that was before I did a round of squats, at an embarrassingly low weight I might add.  Regardless, on the second run I felt like my legs were made of gold, only half so malleable.

And you know what?  I loved it.  I’m going back for more.  I lost a pound during that workout!  Obviously, it was water weight, but that shows I was working.  This could get to be an addiction.

— david j.

Leave a comment