Breakthrough

I’m a plotter. I build huge outlines, character profiles, and sometimes even family trees before I ever start writing a novel. Of course, much of that preliminary work gets changed during the course of writing the first draft. It’s interesting to watch characters grow in this way–like children who have a family template from which they evolve.

Today, a character whom I had previously designated as a bad seed with few if any redeeming qualities, had a breakthrough. She showed the protag a vulnerable side I hadn’t previously imagined. Now, this wasn’t a total surprise–my characters never surprise me so thoroughly that I’m left wondering where the ideas came from–I hadn’t set out to write her as a monster. But this exhibition of humanity has made me like her better–made my protag love her just a little.

What fun.

Leave a Reply

